Day 8 – WJI

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset
Awesome people in a not-so-awesome parking garage pic.

Last week, I walked to a PCA church I found online. By the time I’d left, I felt so enveloped with dinner and car offers and general hospitality and friendliness, Asheville felt like a safe and beautiful place.

So, all week I’ve been looking forward to this day.

[COSMIC HOMELESSNESS INTERLUDE] It helped my bad attitude about missing my home church for both Ascension Day and Pentecost. Also feeling desperately “homesick” for Ukraine and my beloved people there…How wonderful and painful to be part of the same Body and see it in the miracle of Pentecost! I am pretty desperate for my vyshyvanka today. I just keep telling myself it is hanging safe and sound in my closest where no tomato juice, olive stains, leaky soap, avocado slime, and tearing suitcase zippers can reach it…Yes, that’s all happening here.

Back to you, WJI…

Joe Hisaishi + new headphones fortified me until the wee hours of this morning. I slumped at the counter, staring at the computer, and, after great meditation, changed an individual word from time to time.
Then two intoxicated personages blustered into the hostel and my peaceful and private bubble were terrifyingly invaded. I sent the assignments, crawled into my pod, and slithered down the ladder a few hours later with black eyes and very mussed pile of hair still atop my cranium.

I went to Mass with “my African friends” (Onize, the princess from far off lands, and the indomitable Kaylen), and then Onize and I spread a trail of poptart crumbs hoofing it to the Presbyterian church. (Mrs. Bomer picked us up on a street corner and saved us from bursting into church late and dripping in perspiration.) So good to have homes all over the world with God’s people. The end.

Ate the best food since last Sunday and heard Bob Dylan while hanging out with awesome people. Came back. Slept like a babe. Talked to people at home for like the first time ever (that “like” is in there for you, Onize).  Ate a 16oz package of carrots. Did some laundry (I can’t even). Set earlier alarms for all the rest of the week.
And now, will go to sweet repose.

The course is already half over. Thus I weep…I know we have a busy week, though, and everything I bring home will be enough to work on for months (years/lifetimes).

Perfect day of rest and worship today. Back to work and worship tomorrow.

Come down, O love divine, seek Thou this soul of mine,
And visit it with Thine own ardor glowing.
O Comforter, draw near, within my heart appear,
And kindle it, Thy holy flame bestowing.

O let it freely burn, til earthly passions turn
To dust and ashes in its heat consuming;
And let Thy glorious light shine ever on my sight,
And clothe me round, the while my path illuming.

Let holy charity mine outward vesture be,
And lowliness become mine inner clothing;
True lowliness of heart, which takes the humbler part,
And o’er its own shortcomings weeps with loathing.

And so the yearning strong, with which the soul will long,
Shall far outpass the power of human telling;
For none can guess its grace, till he become the place
Wherein the Holy Spirit makes His dwelling.

One thought on “Day 8 – WJI

Leave a Reply

